Cravin' More? Cure your TB withdrawal!

My Hopes For Bill (via @VampKingBill)

First off, I’d like to thank those of you who have taken the time to read my blog, even more so the few who took time to comment.

Anyway, I realized that over the course of this fest that I haven’t really talked that much about Bill or my hopes for him. I’ve resisted the idea of doing posts in defense of him because I feel like I shouldn’t have to defend my enjoyment of a character. I will continue to resist it because I don’t want to end my blog on such a down note. Instead, I can’t think of a better way to end than to look forward and what I hope to see in Season 5 and beyond.

  • Bill survive – On some level, it seems silly to put this on this list. Given that Bill’s story has so central to the show’s story since Season 3 and that Ball is ultimately a Bill/Sookie shipper (and no, it doesn’t matter Ball isn’t the showrunner anymore. He’ll still have plenty of influence over season 6) it’s still never safe to assume anything. For all that I’m certain that the show will with them together or at least a strong hint that they will end together they could just as easily pull the rug out from under us. So it still seems right to put his survival on this list. Sophie Anne was ultimately small fry. Now that he’s going to be neck-deep in inter-Authority squabbling it’ll be interesting to see how they manage it. I also that if/when he does survive it doesn’t feel cheap. Though I don’t want to drag Vampire Diaries into this, I feel like that it is the most apt comparison: in season 3 Damon regularly went up against Originals – Elijah, Kalus, Kol, Rebekah and each time he got his ass handed to him over and over and over again. He should have been dead a million times. Bill’s definitely had more of his share of luck on his side, but he survived Sophie Anne by being smart. That’s how I want to see him survive – by smart moves, not just by deus-ex-machina “he’s the main character” luck.
  • Bill not necessarily with anyone at the end of the season – Oh, I totally want Bill and Sookie back together at some point. But is this the point? I’m not really sure. One of the aspects of Season 4 that I liked was that Bill wasn’t necessarily in a rush to get back together again with Sookie. Did he want to be with her? Sure. Did he still fuck his bodyguard the same even though he knew she was alive? Yup. His Kingdom was his priority and he wasn’t going to risk it for love. I feel like he should be in that stage for some years to come. I also think that he’d also way his happiness against her safety and the stability of his Kingdom. Her existence essentially brought Jessica into the world as a vampire and brought down Sophie Anne (had she not existed, Bill likely wouldn’t have had the chance to go back to Bon Temps and there are decent odds she’d still be on the throne because you don’t know that another situation would have arouse that gave Bill the excuse/desperation to make his move) and could in some regards topple him too. As long as she lives and vampires talk there are good odds that someone will be after her. The more that come the greater the risk. Caution dating her isn’t a bad thing.
  • Bill’s relationship with Jessica and Eric continue to grow. – I like how in Season 4 we got the inference that Bill stepped up as Maker and that he and Jessica were able to not only patch up their relationship but both seem to truly trust each other and be there for each. In early Season 2, Bill and Jessica seemed likely to go the way of Bill and Lorena, but now they seem to be firmly heading towards Godric/Eric or Eric/Pam territory – a solid relationship that will likely last for centuries. I want it to continue that way. Along those lines, I’d like the understanding between Bill and Eric to grow. As much as I’m all team bromance, what’s more important the humor derived from the situation is what happens after. It’s clear that Eric tolerated Sophie-Anne as queen and the start of Season 4 showed him paying Bill only that courtesy – if even that much. I don’t necessarily want them to be BFF’s at the end of it, but if it’d be nice if we got them closer to the loyalty that amnesia Eric showed in Season 4 so that Eric could be the one Sheriff he could truly put his faith in.
  • Bill continue to grow, but still keep his humanity – Finally, I want Bill continue to grow. He’s still a newcomer to the world of vampire politics. He’s done a hell of a job to this point, but he’s in so deep now he’ll never get out. Just as Nan said, “Ever heard of a King that retired?” For as long as he walks the earth, Bill will be a player, either as King or perhaps eventually as a member of the Authority itself. If he’s going to live to see 200, let alone 300, 500 or 1000 he’s going to have to get better and better. At the same time, to do that and keep that humanity that sets him apart from other major players is going to be incredibly difficult, if not almost impossible. I want to see that struggle and hope that he wins it.

I’m sure that there are other things that I’m missing, but I think that’s a solid list of basics as any. I hope that everyone enjoyed the Fang-A-Thon and I’ll see you all for the Fangover this September.

via Fang-A-Thon Day 30: My Hopes For Bill.

2 responses

  1. I’d like to tell you how much I enjoyed your blogs, especially this one. Bill will always be one of my favorite characters. That said, I was happy to see he still put Sookie first last night, when Eric was a total prick.

    June 11, 2012 at 7:18 pm

    • vampirebillc

      Thank you so much for your sweet comments!

      I think Bill will always have a sweet spot for Sookie…even though I have a strong feeling that it will be Bill’s turn to be a jerk to Sookie soon enough.

      June 11, 2012 at 7:27 pm

Leave a Reply

