Cravin' More? Cure your TB withdrawal!

The Origins of Me, Queen Of The Faeries (via @QueenFaeMab)

Let’s take a look at me. You didn’t think I was going to overlook myself did you? *laughs* (Please forgive the length of this blog, but I wish to show all the known versions of me.) I have been known by many names. Tatiana and Mab, being the two most prevalent. My name Mab originates from Ireland and means- happy. (I suppose that’s true for the most part.) I am sometimes shown with black and red hair, but blonde is the most popular and my personal favorite. *smiles*

Now let’s take a look at how us fae are in the Southern Vampire Mysteries: Fairies “…are your basic supernatural being. From us come elves and brownies and angels and demons. Water sprites, green men, all the natural spirits… all some form of fairy.” —Claudine Fairies are portrayed in the series as beautiful, with pointed ears and glossy, thin skin. Physically, fairies are super-humanly strong and durable. They are tough, ferocious, and incredibly long-lived, but not immortal. The Shreveport werewolf packmaster says, “They love to flirt with disaster, they love to role-play.” In this universe, fairies are extremely attractive to humans as well as to vampires. Vampires have a hard time resisting fairies because of their smell and taste; fairy blood is intoxicating to vampires. A fairy, Claudine, is first introduced in Dead to the World. Watching vampires react to her, Sookie thinks that “it was like watching cats that’d suddenly spotted something skittering along the baseboards.” This makes face to face interactions between them all but impossible. However some individuals, such as Sookie’s great-grandfather Niall Brigant, are able to “suppress their essence”, effectively masking their scent and making such contact safer. In the Southern Vampire Series, fairies can be killed with either lemons, limes or iron. When a fairy dies a corpse is not left, just a sparkling powder (or fairy dust); the body just fades away and the spirit of the fairy goes to the next oldest family member to tell them of their death. The fae call their afterlife “The Summerlands”. Fairies are secretive about their own race, customs, interactions, and world. They normally inhabit the fae world, named Faery, but there are portals and doorways between it and the human world. Sookie’s great-grandfather Niall is a fairy prince, and Claudine and Claude are Niall’s grandchildren. In later books, Claudine admits that she is Sookie’s fairy godmother. She was assigned this role in an effort to move on to the next level, which is angelhood. Sookie’s great-grandfather is over a thousand years old and her half-human great-uncle is centuries old. Those who have fairy blood in them but are not full-blooded fairies are immune to the effects of iron, lemons and limes, while maintaining some of the attractive qualities of fairies. Niall states that Sookie and Jason have both inherited the beauty of the fairies but only certain creatures can tell they are part-fairy. As a genetic quirk (possibly due to fairy blood), Jason greatly resembles his great-uncle to the point where others are unable to differentiate between the two of them. Sookie appears to have inherited more magical fairy powers (such as immunity against mind spells from vampires and maenads), while Jason only has the power of attraction and seduction. However, most assume this is mainly due to his physical appearance. It is also stated in one of the books, by Mr. Cataliades, that Sookie’s telepathy is not a trait that she obtained from her fairy blood. In the short story Fairy Dust, it is expressed by Sookie that Fairies love attention and admiration, a fact she learned from Sam. In this story, it is also implied that Fairies have the ability to cast spells, as Claudine was muttering something under her breath to hypnotise or calm down the people she and her brother, Claude, were interrogating. Claudine also magically appeared to aid Sookie when she was in mortal danger on a number of occasions, however, she hinted that there were limits to how and when she could perform that trick. Sookie was not always aware of her fairy godmother’s timely interventions. It is also known that fairies can conjure objects, demonstrated by Claudine in Fairy Dust, when she summoned a contract, and in Dead to the World, when she changed her outfit magically. A fairy, Preston, also displayed the abilities to shapeshift and to seduce even Sookie, who is usually telepathically resistant to such abilities. (I of course am not mentioned in Charlaine Harris’ books.)

Here’s True Blood’s version of me: As Sookie, a human of faerie descent, has ended up in the Fae Realm, the supernatural location where faeries live, she eventually comes to meet Mab. Mab emerges as Sookie communicates with her grandfather Earl telepathically, warning Earl that they need to leave the Fae Realm. Mab picks up on Sookie’s message to Earl and openly wonders what Sookie is afraid of. She reveals herself as Queen of the Fairies and offers Sookie a “light fruit”. Sookie quickly discovers Mab has ordered for all humans of faerie descent to be brought to the Realm, in order to eliminate any connection to the human world after a vampire (Bill Compton) breached the Realm. Sookie attacks Mab with photokinesis as Mab tries to force Sookie to eat a light fruit (the light fruits, as is later revealed, make a person unable to leave the Faerie Realm without dying).(“She’s Not There”) As a full-blooded fairy, the complete extent of Mab’s powers are not yet known. Mab is capable of performing fae magic – the most obvious being photokinesis in which she manipulates light energy as a form of attack against enemies. Mab might be able to do these things too, but she is also capable of telepathy, the ability to hear the thoughts of others and communicate mentally. She is physically stronger than a human, and can shapeshift, changing herself to appear more human-like and beautiful. She can also control the appearance of the Fae Realm to appear more appealing and beautiful, as well as manipulating the landscape that forms the portal between the human and fae realms. Her age is unknown but due the fact Fae Realm time is diffrent than earth, she is presumably very old. Her name comes from Queen Mab , who is a fairy midwife mentioned in Romeo and Juliet. She is a popular character in literature and fiction featuring fairies.

Typical Wikipedia definition: Queen Mab is a fairy referred to in Shakespeare’s play Romeo and Juliet. She later appears in other poetry and literature, and in various guises in drama and cinema. In the play her activity is described in a famous speech by Mercutio written originally in prose and often adapted into iambic pentameter, in which she is described as a miniature creature who drives her chariot into the noses and into the brains of sleeping people to compel them to experience dreams of wish-fulfillment. She would also “plague” “ladies’ lips” “with blisters”, which is thought a reference to the plague or to herpes simplex. She is also described as a midwife to help sleepers ‘give birth’ to their dreams. She may be a figure borrowed from folklore, and though she is often associated with the Irish Medb in popular culture and has been suggested by Thomas Keightley (historian) to be from Habundia, a more likely origin for her name would be from Mabel and the Middle English derivative “Mabily” (as used by Chaucer) all from the Latin “amabilis”.

Another version of my name is Tatiana: Titania is a character in William Shakespeare’s play A Midsummer Night’s Dream. In the play, she is the queen of the fairies. Due to Shakespeare’s influence, later fiction has often used the name “Titania” for fairy queen characters. In traditional folklore, the fairy queen has no name. Shakespeare took the name “Titania” from Ovid’s Metamorphoses, where it is an appellation given to the daughters of Titans. Shakespeare’s Titania is a very proud creature and as much of a force to contend with as her husband Oberon. The marital quarrel she and Oberon are engaged in over which of them should have the keeping of an Indian changeling boy is the engine that drives the mix ups and confusion of the other characters in the play. Due to an enchantment cast by Oberon’s servant Puck, Titania magically falls in love with a rude mechanical (a lower class labourer), Nick Bottom the Weaver, who has been given the head of an ass by Puck.

My own personal bio is a mix: For many centuries, I along with King Oberon and my people resided in the mortal realm living peacefully out of sight from most humans. All was well until creatures known as vampires discovered that our blood is intoxicating and once bitten cannot stop drinking. I became horrified that so many of us were killed that I feared we would be wiped out to extinction. Drawing upon my powers, I fashioned another dimension called the fae realm. There I and my people could live in peace away from those that sought to harm us.

We devised a plan to reestablish our species by coupling with humans to produce half human/fae respectively. The plot was working until the vampires learned of our little secret. I then commanded Claudine and others to keep a watchful eye on our offspring. Receiving word about Sookie, I became very angry and took it upon myself to venture to a small town in Louisiana called Bon Temps. In order to fit in, I changed my appearance, my name to Tatiana and opened up a costume shop called @BTCostumes and a pet store @HappyCritterz .

Living amongst humans for 9 months, I gathered first hand knowledge about the vampires. Recently, I traveled back to the fae realm where I ordered Claudine to harvest all fae from the human plane. Forcing them to eat lumiere fruit essentially trapping them in faery. My attempts to abduct Sookie were frivolous and Claudine was insubordinate. Eric, sensing her distress attacked me. Niall rushed in and teaming together with the witches, cast a spell on me. The magic was so great I developed amnesia and was forced back into Bon Temps. Wanting my memories back, I contacted my good friend and local sheriff’s deputy @Kenya_JonesBT. Explaining to her what happened, she invited @MenaGrazie, a local witch to try and reverse the awful curse that was placed upon me. Upon casting her spell, she soon realized that it was indeed a fae not a witch that cursed me. She informed me that only a fae could reverse the spell. I gave a call to my fae friends. They instructed me to take several personal items and meet them at the Bon Temps’ cemetery. There they began to chant and use their magic to reverse the spell. I was relieved to have my memories back, but saddened at the things I had done to others. I will make amends for my past and use my powers for good as I continue to live in the human realm. Even though others will know my name is Mab, only other fae will know of my true self or my horrific past.

In October of 2011 I met a vampire named Valondra. She wasn’t like any vampire I had ever met. Very beautiful with a kind, but mysterious nature. Spending time with her, I began to fall in love. She showed me not all vampires are vicious creatures set out to drain us fae. I can’t imagine my life without her now. Perpetually in love with @Vamp_Valondra

via The Origins of Me, Queen Of The Faeries

Leave a Reply

