Cravin' More? Cure your TB withdrawal!

Why the hate, AB? (via @JBDuRoneTB)

Ok – here’s my personal horror story; in 2008, I watched a few episodes of the new HBO drame “True Blood”.  Having liked what I saw, I decided to read the books series it was based on; The Southern Vampire Mysteries (SVM) by Charlaine Harris.

Long story short, I liked the books, too!  I thought S1 of TB was faithful to the books and loved each in their own regard.  TB isn’t a direct adaptation of SVM, which is ok; they don’t have to be.  However, it’s obvious to me that Alan Ball is thumbing his nose at book lovers through the story lines on TB.

Most obvious example; to Eric fans, the highlight of the SVM series was the amnesia SL in Dead to the World (book 4).  The shower scene with Sookie and Eric reverberated around the SVM community and continues to be a favorite.  So, what did AB do with this SL?  Well, he…

  • Gave the shower scene to Bill and Sookie in Season 3
  • Eric and Sookie DID have sex, but it was in some stupid fantasy/dream/Narnia setting
  • At the end of DttW, when Eric regained his memory, some of the boy-like Eric remained, along with some affection for Sookie.  On TB, Eric reverted to his old self and turned completely away from Sookie

Those are pretty big departures for SVM fans.  AB went out of his way to piss off the fans, IMHO.

Other examples include Hot Shot/Calvin Norris (as I mentioned in a prior post), the whole Sookie/Bill dynamic instead of the Sookie/Eric dynamic and, lastly, while the hell isn’t Arlene in jail yet?

Before you jump to conclusions, I’m not hung up on the Eric vs. Bill thing.  My own personal opinion is that all supes are bad for her; they’ve brought her nothing but trouble.  Sookie needs to find a nice, natural guy to settle down with.  Too bad the best in Bon Temps has been snatched by Tara Thornton. ; )

So, Alan Ball – why the hate?  Why go out of your way to piss off the SVM fans?  Haven’t I read that Charlaine Harris has distanced herself from your writing because you’ve gone too far off the deep end?

Look, you made a wreck of the series in S4 because, as I’ve pointed out here, you went out of your way to pervert the Eric amnesia story line.  Couldn’t you have put more effort into writing original but good material?

via Why the hate, AB?

5 responses

  1. Brilliant. You absolutely nailed the problem of the show vs. the books. I’m a book fan too, however, I think Sam and Sookie would make a great couple. She has trouble reading him, and he always has loved Sookie.

    May 15, 2012 at 11:21 am

    • Thanks! I’ve spent several Sunday evenings yelling at Sookie on the TV; Bill betrayed you! You can’t stay with him! Don’t take him back! (Boy, do my neighbors hate that!) I like your Sookie/Sam pairing too. ; )

      May 15, 2012 at 9:56 pm

  2. I like Sam and Luna as a couple, and would love to see Sookie with Akcide. Of course, Eric is my first choice, but since he regained his memory, it seems his world is too occupied for him to deal with romance.

    May 15, 2012 at 5:05 pm

    • I know – why would Eric fall into lock step with Bill so abruptly? He turned away from Sookie entirely and resides up Bills posterior now. Hope he likes the view…

      May 15, 2012 at 9:57 pm

  3. taim

    the sookie sam shippers make me laugh, sorry but were is the romance between them in the books my goodness…

    and Alcide is only about muscles thats the only reason why some people care for the character, he is boring, dull and has no depth at all, really would like to now why someone can even like that guy…

    May 21, 2012 at 10:16 am

Leave a Reply

